Minnesota Department of Health — Office of Rural Health and Primary Care · Posted November 1, 2026
Official source: health.state.mn.us · Source last checked November 3, 2026
What paid intelligence adds
Free accounts can watch this opportunity and receive change alerts. Pro adds AI analysis, amendment summaries, vendor matching, comparisons, and exports; Team adds shared research and assignments.
Application Due
January 7, 2027
Minnesota’s Office of Rural Health and Primary Care provides loan forgiveness to healthcare professionals serving in high-need areas. The 2026–2027 application cycle for eligible professions runs November 1, 2026 through January 6, 2027.
Individual health professionals only (organizations cannot apply). Applicants must live in Minnesota with a Minnesota home address, and hold, or will hold by fall 2027, a full, unrestricted Minnesota license in an eligible profession. They must commit to at least 30 hours a week of direct patient care, 45 weeks a year, usually for 3–4 years (nurse faculty and long-term care nurses: 2 years plus an optional 2). Qualifying student loan debt must exceed 2× the annual award (1× for long-term care nurses and nurse faculty). Applicants can't be in another loan repayment program at the same time, except Public Service Loan Forgiveness. Most tracks require a designated rural area (outside the 7-county Twin Cities metro); urban tracks require a shortage area (HPSA, MUA or MUP). Annual awards range from $6,000 (long-term care nurse, rural public health nurse) to $41,000 (dentist). The program is competitive, there are no appeals, and decisions are emailed by May.
Required attachments
Submit applications and supporting documents through the Minnesota Department of Health Grant Interface portal.
Sign in to download all as ZIP
Status, deadline, award, and content changes RCJ has recorded for this opportunity, newest first.
Application Prep
Application #: Not specified in official documents.
Reference: Not specified in official documents.
Program: Minnesota Healthcare Loan Forgiveness Program (administered by Office of Rural Health and Primary Care, MDH).
Match: Not required.
Performance: 3–4 years (2 years, extendable to 4 for Nurse Faculty/Long Term Care Nurses).
Key Dates:
Review Criteria:
Portal: https://www.grantinterface.com/Home/Logon?urlkey=mdh
FAQ: https://www.health.state.mn.us/facilities/ruralhealth/funding/loans/faq.html
Contact
Office of Rural Health and Primary Care
651-201-3838
Office of Rural Health and Primary Care (toll-free)
800-366-5424
health.loanforgiveness@state.mn.us
Related Opportunities